Sewanee Snaps Petrel Win Streak

Sewanee Snaps Petrel Win Streak

After 12 consecutive wins, Oglethorpe's streak came to a halt on Sunday afternoon on Salamone Field as Sewanee scored late en route to a 2-1 over the Petrels. The Tigers broke a tie in the 81st minute and survived a flurry of Petrel chances, including three shots that ricocheted off the post, to get the result.

Sewanee jumped in front in the game's 8th minute on a deep shot from the right flank that found the back of the net. The Petrels got the equalizer in the 40th minute when, after a Petrel was taken down inside the Tiger's box, Mark Lavery converted a penalty kick into the top shelf.

The score remained a 1-1 draw through halftime and into the late stages until the Tigers' Ford Emerson got past the Petrel defense and fed Matt Lightfoot on the right flank for a strike that snuck just inside the far post. Oglethorpe battled furiously down the stretch to get the equalizer but found no luck, only an unkind post that deflected away three seemingly good goals.

Oglethorpe outshot Sewanee 18-12 on the afternoon and earned a 6-4 advantage in corner kicks. Prior to the game the team celebrated Senior Day to commemorate the eight graduating seniors on the squad: Alex Van Zandt, E.J. Ovie-Ogodo, Nathan Post, Jon Beaver, Harrison McConnell, Jeff Arsenault, Mark Lavery and Aaron Walker.

Despite the loss, the Petrels posted the program's most wins ever at 15-3 overall and their 8-1 SCAC mark is also the best all-time for the team. Oglethorpe earned the No. 2 overall seed in next weekend's conference tournament to be held in Birmingham. They will face the winner of Colorado College and Southwestern on Saturday night at approximately 8:30 p.m. Eastern.