Men Split Pair of Saturday Matches

Men Split Pair of Saturday Matches

The men's tennis team had an up-and-down Saturday afternoon on Downing Howell Courts as they split a pair of matches against Mississippi College and Reinhardt. The Choctaws topped the Petrels 8-1 in the morning session before Oglethorpe rallied to whip the Golden Eagles 8-1 in the afternoon.

Mississippi College got the jump on the Petrels by sweeping the doubles matches and claiming three valuable points. The No. 3 duo of Craig Borne and Chris Noonburg nearly produced a win for Oglethorpe before succombing 9-8 (4) in a tiebreak thriller.

The Choctaws finished off the victory by winning 5 of the 6 singles matches in relatively convincing fashion. Ethan Motz fought hard at No. 1 but lost in three sets 7-5, 4-6, 7-5 while freshman Kirk Zhao scratched out the lone Petrel point with a crafty 4-6, 6-2, 7-6 (6) win. Complete match results included below.

The afternoon session against Reinhardt went much smoother for Oglethorpe as they romped through the Golden Eagles 8-1. Oglethorpe got straight set wins in singles play from Motz, Hirsch, Zhao, Dinakaran and Farmer to cruise to the easy win. Complete match results are posted below.

The men's netters are now 3-5 on the season and will host Berry College on Downing Howell Courts this Friday at 3:30 p.m.

Position Oglethorpe University Mississippi College Winner Score
#1 Singles Ethan Motz CHRISTIAN BRANNING Mississippi College 7-5,4-6,7-5
#2 Singles Rajiv Dinakaran CHRIS WOOTTON Mississippi College 6-3,6-0
#3 Singles Kirk Zhao JACOB WOMACK Oglethorpe University 4-6,2-6,7-6(6)
#4 Singles Joshua Rosenberg MATT WHITESIDE Mississippi College 6-1,6-0
#5 Singles Cedric Andre MATTHEW MARTIN Mississippi College 8-3
#6 Singles Craig Borne DUDLEY LAMPTON Mississippi College 8-4
#1 Doubles Ethan Motz
Benjamin Hirsch
Mississippi College 8-1
#2 Doubles Rajiv Dinakaran
Kirk Zhao
Mississippi College 8-3
#3 Doubles Craig Borne
Chris Noonburg
Mississippi College 9-8(4)


Position Oglethorpe University Reinhardt (Ga.) Winner Score
#1 Singles Ethan Motz Nick Draghiceanu Oglethorpe University 6-2,7-6(4)
#2 Singles Benjamin Hirsch Justin Wagner Oglethorpe University 6-1,6-1
#3 Singles Kirk Zhao Andrew Cobb Oglethorpe University 6-2,6-0
#4 Singles Rajiv Dinakaran Garrick Sanford Oglethorpe University 6-1,61
#5 Singles Jeremiah Farmer Nahum Vigo-Fas Oglethorpe University 6-0,6-0
#6 Singles     Never Scheduled (Incomplete Lineup)  
#1 Doubles Ethan Motz
Rajiv Dinakaran
Nick Draghiceanu
Garrick Sanford
Oglethorpe University 8-5
#2 Doubles Kirk Zhao
Joshua Rosenberg
Andrew Cobb
Nahum Vigo-Fas
Reinhardt (Ga.) 8-3
#3 Doubles

Never Scheduled (Incomplete Lineup)