Five Things to Know About Oglethorpe's Cross Country Classic

Five Things to Know About Oglethorpe's Cross Country Classic

This Saturday the Oglethorpe campus will be the site for the annual cross country invitational with twelve schools competing for the championship trophy. 

In the men's 8k race, which begins at 8:30 a.m. in front of the Bell Tower, Johnson University, Covenant, Chattahoochee-Tech, Clark-Atlanta, LaGrange, Georgia Military, Tennessee Wesleyan, Gordon, North Georgia Tech and Armstrong Atlantic will all race against Oglethorpe.

The women's 5k will start at 9:20 a.m. and includes Spelman, Wesleyan, Covenant, Gordon, Chattahoochee Tech, LaGrange, Georgia Military, Tennessee Wesleyan and North Georgia against Oglethorpe.

Below are 5 Fast Facts about the yearly race held on the campus.

  • Although cross country is one of the oldest sports at Oglethorpe, the first invitational held on campus was in 1977.
  • The first women's race was held in 1989. OU's women finished second to nationally ranked Emory. Emory's Katherine Marshall, All-American in both cross country and track, won the meet establishing a record for the new 5k course in 21:19. Kate Baker was first for OU in 22:01. OU's Baker went on to be All-Region later that fall.
  • The following year, in 1990, OU's women won the meet for the first time, finishing ahead of five other schools including NCAA Division I Mercer.
  • Oglethorpe's men won the invitational for the first time in 1993. OU's Doug Pack won the meet and later was All-Region and was one of only two men from the South Region to qualify for the NCAA National Championship. Katie Farrell, now in Oglethorpe's Hall of Fame, finished first for the women, setting a new course record.
  • Of the top thirty times ever run by Oglethorpe harriers, four of the holders of those best times are members of the current team: Donyale Greenwell and Katy Galli for the women; Robbie Capps and David Whitson for the men.