Five new honorees inducted into Oglethorpe Athletics Hall of Fame

Five new honorees inducted into Oglethorpe Athletics Hall of Fame

The Oglethorpe Athletics Hall of Fame got five new members Friday night. Women's basketball players Anna Findley Roberts and Katie Kulavic Fox, men's soccer player Josh Rosendahl, men's golfer Taylor Urbanski, and the 1963 men's tennis team were all inducted at Oglethorpe's Turner Lynch Campus Center at the 2019 Alumni Awards and Athletics Hall of Fame Ceremony, part of Alumni Weekend festivities at the university.

Findley Roberts and Kulavic Fox were both part of the 2008 team that made it all the way to the national semifinals, the farthest any team has advanced in the national tournament in program history. That team also made four consecutive NCAA tournaments and two sectional appearances, and won the 2009 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) championship.

Findley Roberts earned All-America honors in 2009 and became the fourth woman in program history to record 1,000 points and 500 rebounds. She scored 44 points against Kean in the 2008 sectional finals, leading her team to the national semifinals. She finished as the second-leading scorer in program history with 1,864 career points and earned four straight All-SCAC selections. She's currently the program's career leader in steals (295), free-throw percentage (85.7), 3-point percentage (40.6), and 3-pointers made (313). 

The only woman with more points, Kulavic Fox, was also inducted on Friday night. She earned All-America honors twice and was named the SCAC Player of the Year in 2008. She also earned SCAC Newcomer of the Year honors as a freshman in 2006. Kulavic Fox was a four-time All-SCAC first team selection. In addition to her 1,952 points, she also still holds program records in assists (462), field-goal percentage (53.7) and field goals made (733).

Rosendahl still holds the men's soccer program career assists record with 32, and also set the program's single-season assist record in 2006 when he passed out 15. That year, he also led the SCAC in assists and was fourth in all of Division III with a 0.79 assist-per-game average. He was named as an All-SCAC honoree that year, as well.

Urbanski was a stalwart of one of the best men's golf teams in the nation during his career at Oglethorpe. He earned All-America first team honors in 2007 and was a two-time scholar all-America honoree by the Golf Coaches Association of America. He won the individual medal at the SCAC Championships in 2008, earning him SCAC Player of the Year honors that season. He also garnered four straight All-SCAC first team honors and led the team to a fourth-place finish at the 2006 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships, their best-ever finish to that point. He also won SCAC championships with the Petrels in 2006 and 2008.

The 1963 men's tennis team, led by legendary coach Crawford Henry, went undefeated, marking the only Oglethorpe athletics team to ever finish a season without a loss. They earned victories over current Division I teams Kentucky, Stetson, Georgia State and Georgia Southern, as well as beating Emory, Oxford, Shorter, Berry and West Georgia. The team consisted of Dan Cowart, Tom Dalinger, Bob Nance, Bill Pate, Bill Stewart, Ray Thomas and Lynn White.

All five honorees will have their names place on the wall in the Oglethorpe Traditions area of Dorough Field House, commemorating their induction into the Hall of Fame.